NWOA does not recommend timber tax preparers, but we do supply a list of service providers who have attended tax courses offered by State Extension Services or other recognized course sponsors.

These names and contacts are listed by state:

Susan Metcalfe
Metcalfe Forestry LLC
402 Chestnut St
Grayling, Michigan 49738
The following list of tax preparers consists of individuals who have attended Farm and Forest Tax Workshops conducted by the North Carolina Extension Service in 2007.  These individuals have an interest and exposure to natural resource and agricultural income taxation issues, and there is no certification implied by NWOA.  Many have attended follow-up courses as well:

Farm and Forest Tax Workships List
Ruth Walker, Trinity Enterprises, Inc.
P.O. Box 333, Glasgow, WV 25086
Tel.:  304-610-5649    Fax:  304-872-1324
Sherri Bennett, H&R Block
14 Main St., Clendenin, WV  25045
Tel.:  304-548-6281    Fax:  304-548-4617
Geary N. Searfoss, CPA, EA, CF
Geary N. Searfoss CPA, LLC
P.O. Box 358
Winter, WI 54896-0358

ADDITIONAL TIMBER TAX PREPARERS Listed by State Affiliate (active links highlighted in red):

If there is no link shown for your state, it is because our affiliated state association has not yet developed one. These take time.

This is a new service in 2007 and not all state associations are participating. Their interest depends upon the number of requests for this information that they receive from their members. Remember, such recommendations are based on good experience by members of their organizations, and do not constitute an endorsement.

The Forest Landowners Tax Council (of which NWOA is a partner) maintains a list of CPAs who are members of that organization and have completed formal timber tax training from recognized sources. See:


Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California
Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia
Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa
Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland
Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri
Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey
New Mexico New York No. Carolina No. Dakota Ohio
Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island So. Carolina
So. Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont
Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming